BSc.Microbiology Bachelor of Science in Microbiology is an under graduate program which can be completed in 3 years time which focuses on the study of basic level aspects in the field of Microbiology. The field of Microbiology is a booming sector which offers a lot of career openings for experts in the field. They have enormous openings in the Public sector firms and also in Private sector organizations. Various undertakings abroad also offer employment opportunities for Bachelor of Science in Microbiology graduates. Various higher study options in the field will make them enable to work in several other job profiles as well.

Private Sector Jobs after B.Sc in Microbiology

Private sector provides a lot of job opportunities for Bachelor of Science in Microbiology pass outs. The most common field of work for these aspirants in this sector will be in research organizations. They can opt for teaching profession as well. The salary packages will depend on the job profile and the area in which these graduates are working. They can not only work in the fields of Microbiology but also in its allied fields. There are various career openings for these graduates in the fields of Biotechnology and Genetic Engineering as well.

The most common job profiles for these people in the Private sector units include:

  • Medical Microbiologists
  • Agricultural Microbiologists
  • Industrial Microbiologists
  • Marine Microbiologists
  • Development laboratories
  • Hospitals
  • Pharmaceutical Sector
  • Food Industry
  • Beverage Units
  • Chemical Industries

Job Prospects Abroad after B.Sc in Microbiology

B.Sc in Microbiology pass outs has a great career scope abroad. They can work in a lot of job profiles like

  • Bacteriologists
  • Industrial Microbiologists
  • Medical Microbiologists
  • Biotechnologist
  • Biomedical Scientist
  • Cell Biologists
  • Geneticists
  • Mycologists
  • Protozoologists
  • Biochemist
  • Immunologists
  • Parasitologists
  • Virologists
  • Environmental Microbiologists
  • Food Microbiologists

National Skills Qualifications Framework (NSQF)

The National Skills Qualifications Framework (NSQF) is a competency-based framework that organizes all qualifications according to a series of levels of knowledge, skills and aptitude. These levels, graded from one to ten, are defined in terms of learning outcomes which the learner must possess regardless of whether they are obtained through formal, non-formal or informal learning. NSQF in India was notified on 27th December 2013. All otherframeworks, including the NVEQF (National Vocational Educational Qualification Framework) released by the Ministry of HRD, stand superceded by the NSQF.

By 2020, the requirements necessary for a government job will be altered. The National Skills Qualification Framework (NSQF) which is a framework that is competency-based and organises people's qualifications in a series on the basis of level of knowledge, skills and aptitude. This framework will become compulsory for a government job by 2020 and is going to integrate vocational education, skill training, general education, technical education and the job market.

Rajiv Pratap Rudy,Minister of State for Skill Development and Entrepreneurship, told The Economic Times, "By 2020 an educational qualification will not be enough. You would need a NSQF to apply for any vacancy in the government." In December 2013, NSQF was notified and it has a five year implementation period. The recruitment rules that the Government of India and PSUs of the central government have, will be altered so that the eligibility criteria can be defined in NSQF levels. State governments and PSUs will be asked to amend the rules for the same.

Training/educational programmes/courses that are not compliant to NSQF will not receive any government funding. Training and educational institutions that are funded by the government will also define their eligibility criteria in NSQF levels.

The learners can receive certificates required to show for the competency needed at all levels via formal, non-formal or informal learning, under NSQF. The National Skill Development Agency (NSDA) anchors the NSQF.

Read More